# Dermalogica Retinol Serum vs Sunday Riley A+: Which to Choose?

**Question answered:** What is the difference between Dermalogica Dynamic Skin Retinol Serum and Sunday Riley A+ High-Dose Retinoid Serum?

Published 2026-10-13, updated 2026-10-13. Data is taken from manufacturer labels; the products have not been tested.

These two serums are closer than most pairs: both list retinol and hydroxypinacolone retinoate, and they share 13 ingredients besides water. The differences are in the extras. Dermalogica Dynamic Skin Retinol Serum states a 3.5% retinoid complex and lists seven essential oils despite being sold as fragrance free. Sunday Riley A+ lists 56 ingredients, no essential oils, and alcohol near the end of its list.

## How the labels differ

[Dermalogica Dynamic Skin Retinol Serum](/products/dermalogica-dynamic-skin-retinol-serum/) lists 43 ingredients. Its top five are water, [squalane](/ingredients/squalane/), glycerin, hexyldecanol and propanediol. [Hydroxypinacolone retinoate](/ingredients/hydroxypinacolone-retinoate/) and [retinol](/ingredients/retinol/) are ninth and tenth. It also lists rice bran extract and ceramide NP. Dermalogica sells it as fragrance free, but it lists geranium flower, rosewood, eucalyptus leaf, sandalwood, cypress, Juniperus virginiana and Siberian fir oils, plus [linalool](/ingredients/linalool/). It states oily, dry, combination, sensitive and normal skin.

[Sunday Riley A+ High-Dose Retinoid Serum](/products/sunday-riley-a-high-dose-retinoid-serum/) lists 56 ingredients. Its top five are water, [dimethyl isosorbide](/ingredients/dimethyl-isosorbide/), propanediol, triheptanoin and dimethicone. Hydroxypinacolone retinoate is fifteenth and retinol twenty-second. It also lists honey extract, prickly pear extract, bisabolol, shea butter, ginger root extract and ubiquinone. It lists alcohol, and no essential oils or fragrance allergens. The bottle is 30 ml.

Shared ingredients besides water include both retinoids, glycerin, hexyldecanol, propanediol, dimethyl isosorbide, sunflower seed oil and tocopherol.

| Product | Key ingredients | Skin types | Fragrance | Flagged ingredients | Size | Source | Buy |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Dermalogica Dynamic Skin Retinol Serum](https://dermalguide.com/products/dermalogica-dynamic-skin-retinol-serum/) | Retinoid Complex 3.5% | oily, dry, combination, sensitive, normal | Sold as fragrance free, but the label lists scent ingredients | Linalool | Brand doesn't list it | [Manufacturer label](https://www.dermalogica.com/products/dynamic-skin-retinol-serum), checked 2026-10-11 | [Amazon (affiliate)](https://amzn.to/4siShPz) |
| [Sunday Riley A+ High-Dose Retinoid Serum](https://dermalguide.com/products/sunday-riley-a-high-dose-retinoid-serum/) | Retinol + Hydroxypinacolone Retinoate | Brand doesn't say | Sold as fragrance free | Nothing flagged | 30 ml | [Manufacturer label](https://sundayriley.com/products/a-high-dose-retinoid-serum), checked 2026-10-10 | [Amazon (affiliate)](https://amzn.to/4yCp3NI) |

## Which to choose

Choose Dermalogica Dynamic Skin Retinol Serum if you want: A stated retinoid percentage (3.5% retinoid complex).

Choose Sunday Riley A+ High-Dose Retinoid Serum if you want: No essential oils on the label.


## Questions

### Do both use the same retinoids?

Yes. Both labels list retinol and hydroxypinacolone retinoate. Dermalogica states a 3.5% retinoid complex; the Sunday Riley product data used here does not state a percentage.

### Which one lists essential oils?

Dermalogica sells its serum as fragrance free, but the list includes geranium flower, rosewood, eucalyptus leaf, sandalwood, cypress, Juniperus virginiana and Siberian fir oils, plus linalool. Sunday Riley A+ lists no essential oils or fragrance allergens.

### Which is labeled for oily skin?

Dermalogica lists oily, dry, combination, sensitive and normal skin. The Sunday Riley product data used here does not state skin types.

