Side-by-side

Dermalogica Retinol Serum vs Sunday Riley A+: Which to Choose?

What is the difference between Dermalogica Dynamic Skin Retinol Serum and Sunday Riley A+ High-Dose Retinoid Serum?

Published ยท Updated

ProductKey ingredientsSkin type (brand)FragranceWorth knowingSizeSource
Retinoid Complex 3.5%oily, dry, combination, sensitive, normal skinSold as fragrance free, but the label lists scent ingredientsLinaloolBrand doesn't list itBrand's page
Checked
Retinol + Hydroxypinacolone RetinoateBrand doesn't saySold as fragrance freeNothing flagged30 mlBrand's page
Checked

Swipe the table sideways on your phone to see every column.

These two serums are closer than most pairs: both list retinol and hydroxypinacolone retinoate, and they share 13 ingredients besides water. The differences are in the extras. Dermalogica Dynamic Skin Retinol Serum states a 3.5% retinoid complex and lists seven essential oils despite being sold as fragrance free. Sunday Riley A+ lists 56 ingredients, no essential oils, and alcohol near the end of its list.

How the labels differ

Dermalogica Dynamic Skin Retinol Serum lists 43 ingredients. Its top five are water, squalane, glycerin, hexyldecanol and propanediol. Hydroxypinacolone retinoate and retinol are ninth and tenth. It also lists rice bran extract and ceramide NP. Dermalogica sells it as fragrance free, but it lists geranium flower, rosewood, eucalyptus leaf, sandalwood, cypress, Juniperus virginiana and Siberian fir oils, plus linalool. It states oily, dry, combination, sensitive and normal skin.

Sunday Riley A+ High-Dose Retinoid Serum lists 56 ingredients. Its top five are water, dimethyl isosorbide, propanediol, triheptanoin and dimethicone. Hydroxypinacolone retinoate is fifteenth and retinol twenty-second. It also lists honey extract, prickly pear extract, bisabolol, shea butter, ginger root extract and ubiquinone. It lists alcohol, and no essential oils or fragrance allergens. The bottle is 30 ml.

Shared ingredients besides water include both retinoids, glycerin, hexyldecanol, propanediol, dimethyl isosorbide, sunflower seed oil and tocopherol.

Which to choose

From each brand's published ingredient list; see the product pages for sources. We haven't tested either product.

Common questions

Do both use the same retinoids?

Yes. Both labels list retinol and hydroxypinacolone retinoate. Dermalogica states a 3.5% retinoid complex; the Sunday Riley product data used here does not state a percentage.

Which one lists essential oils?

Dermalogica sells its serum as fragrance free, but the list includes geranium flower, rosewood, eucalyptus leaf, sandalwood, cypress, Juniperus virginiana and Siberian fir oils, plus linalool. Sunday Riley A+ lists no essential oils or fragrance allergens.

Which is labeled for oily skin?

Dermalogica lists oily, dry, combination, sensitive and normal skin. The Sunday Riley product data used here does not state skin types.