Dermalogica
clearing defense spf30
A broad-spectrum SPF 30 moisturizer with a matte finish that Dermalogica positions for breakout-prone skin and shine reduction.
- Fragrance free

What it is
Dermalogica describes Clearing Defense SPF30 as a shine-reducing sunscreen moisturizer for breakout-prone skin. The brand says its ultra-lightweight formula leaves a long-lasting matte finish and provides broad-spectrum SPF 30 protection.
Key ingredients
- Tapioca: Dermalogica says it helps reduce shine.
- Willow bark, green tea and sodium ascorbyl phosphate (vitamin C): The brand says these help combat the irritating effects of pollution on breakout-prone skin.
- Sunscreen filters: The manufacturer lists homosalate 8.0%, octocrylene 8.0%, octisalate 5.0% and avobenzone 3.0% as active ingredients.
How to use
Apply a generous amount to cleansed face and neck, preferably 30 minutes before sun exposure, following the manufacturer directions.
Who should be careful
The manufacturer ingredient list includes coriander fruit oil, orange peel oil, and listed fragrance allergens. People with known sensitivities may want to review the current package ingredient list. The product page does not state a water-resistance duration. This is general product information, not medical advice.
What the brand claims
Dermalogica says the formula helps protect breakout-prone skin from environmental stress, reduce shine and provide a long-lasting matte finish. The product page does not give study size or duration for these claims.
This page reports what is printed on the label for Dermalogica clearing defense spf30. Data is taken from the manufacturer page linked above.
Sources
- https://www.dermalogica.com/products/clearing-defense-spf30 (checked 2026-10-11)
- https://www.dermalogica.com/products/clearing-defense-spf30.js (checked 2026-10-11)
We have not tested this product.
What's on the label
| Category | Daily Sunscreens & SPF Moisturizers |
|---|---|
| Brand | Dermalogica |
| Size | 2.0 oz |
| Form | Facial moisturizer with sunscreen |
| Texture | Ultra-lightweight |
| Finish | Long-lasting matte |
| SPF | Broad Spectrum SPF 30 |
| Sunscreen filters | Homosalate 8.0%, Octocrylene 8.0%, Octisalate 5.0%, Avobenzone 3.0% |
| Key ingredients | Tapioca, willow bark extract, green tea extract and vitamin C (sodium ascorbyl phosphate) |
| When to use | Apply to cleansed face and neck, preferably 30 minutes before sun exposure |
| Key ingredient | None stated |
| Best for | Not specified |
| Fragrance free | Yes |
| Worth knowing | Limonene, Linalool, Geraniol, Citronellol |
| Full ingredient list | Water/Aqua/Eau, Butylene Glycol, Silica, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Butyloctyl Salicylate, VP/Eicosene Copolymer, Polyglyceryl-2 Distearate, Saccharide Isomerate, Tapioca Starch, Coriandrum Sativum (Coriander) Fruit Oil, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Extract, Terpineol, Thymol, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Peel Oil, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Arachidyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Behenyl Alcohol, Xanthan Gum, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Arachidyl Glucoside, Ethylhexylglycerin, Trisodium Ethylenediamine Disuccinate, Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate, Sodium Hydroxide, Glycerin, Bisabolol, Pentylene Glycol, Propanediol, Caprylyl Glycol, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate, Linalool, Limonene, Geraniol, Citronellol |
| Size | Not stated |
| Source | Brand's own product page Checked |
Common questions
What sun protection does the brand state?
Dermalogica identifies it as SPF 30 and describes its sunscreen as broad spectrum.
Which sunscreen filters does the product page list?
Homosalate 8.0%, octocrylene 8.0%, octisalate 5.0% and avobenzone 3.0%.
How should I apply it?
Apply a generous amount to cleansed face and neck, preferably 30 minutes before sun exposure.
What finish does Dermalogica describe?
The brand describes an ultra-lightweight formula with a long-lasting matte finish.
Does the current page state a water-resistance duration?
The current product page does not state a water-resistance duration.